I Do What I Want

So, for my first project for my Painting 2 class, we had to get a black, white, or grey still life and do 2 paintings with it.
As a senior, I feel like I have learned a lot about myself as an artist.
I don’t enjoy staring at a flower for 30 hours. I enjoy creating and inventing. With this, I can say that I enjoy working abstract.
So this still life was not very amusing to me. Now when I think of still life, I no longer think of apples and bottles. I try to think of something that will turn abstract. This is what I came up with…

image

Hot glued a trash bag to cardboard.
Our first painting had to be monochromatic with black and white…

image

The second one we had to use all the colors on our supply list except black and white…

image

This took a lot of time. They are both oil on canvas 24 x 36.
Mine stand out from the rest of my classmates’ but I couldn’t stand staring at a box for a month.

2 thoughts on “I Do What I Want

  1. I love your creative take on this. Your interpretation is awesome, it’s something so out of the box. The neutrals you created in the second piece are beautiful. The range in contrast in that piece is really nice. I can’t wait to see more of your work! I love your blog so far.

  2. Wow! I was wondering what it was when I saw your Instagram pictures. I never expected the object to be a trash bag. It’s very beautiful! I personally like the green one, but the colorful one is nice too! So cool!

Leave a Reply

